Anna, the first, the eldest - the last


I remember from my childhood that my great grandmother Anna used a black walking stick daytime. In the evenings, she used two of them. When she went away to some place, she used her brown going-away-stick (gåbortskäpp). The last five-six years she used a walker at home. Because of the problems with her hips, she used wooden shoes with different heights. The sound from the upper floor, when she was leaving her room in the early mornings walking to the bathroom, was characteristic.

I cannot say that I knew my great grandmother; for that I was too young. But I know that she was a down to earth person (for example she loved guardening); still very sensitive, seriously contemplating theological issues. She and Gösta often sat during the nights of the 40s and 50s talking about this; I wish I had been with them. She had a really compassionate mind, also a sense of humour. Still she could (in some ways) be complicated; for example she didn't allways have a good relationship to Karin.

As I have understood it, Gösta was her favourite child. In a interesting and singular way, they could talk about the most private matters (Gösta's dream in "Recollections 1920-1937" is just one example). Thanks to this close relationship, and to Gösta's reflective way of finding out about his mother's and grandmother's lives, we have so much knowledge about the family that we wouldn't have had otherwise.

The last two years of her life, my great grandmother had to be taken care of completely, although she was still quite clear. My grandmother Brita, who lived year-round at Skeda from 1981, helped her every day and sometimes even during the nights.

My great grandmother Anna passed away in her bed, the morning of February 27, 1988. So the story of the Lindman sisters was over. Or was, rather, this the very moment when it was ready to begin?



















Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0