A part of Swedish theatre history


When I was about nine years old I was watching a children series called Den vita stenen together with my grandmother. It was a scene where a man (the shoemaker) was playing some chair-game (sitting backwards jumping around) with all his children. My grandmother told me that the man who played the shoemaker was her second cousin. To me this was really grand. 

The actor's name was Håkan Serner, a grandson of Salomon's sister Elisabeth (there are some interesting people coming from that branch). On stage, especially at Stockholm City Theatre, he was very active for many years and he also had parts in a lot of Swedish movies. He had a very personal way of acting: very modest, quite concerned but with glimpses of a subtle humour. In television he often read children's books, for example Winnie the Pooh.

He could have been with us today but he isn't. October 25, 1984, was the date of his death. He was only 51 and could have done so much more. Of course it was shocking to me when it happened. I didn't find out until later that it was his own choise (if we ever really have choises). A part of me is still sad because he is gone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvexhszQnp8&feature=PlayList&p=67761E305923A620&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=55


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0